MINUTES OF THE FIFTY FOURTH ANNUAL CONVENTION OF THE URBAN MUNICIPAL ADMINISTRATORS' ASSOCIATION OF SASKATCHEWAN HELD AT THE TRAVELODGE HOTEL IN SASKATOON, JUNE 10TH TO 12TH, 2009.

PRESENT WERE: 200 Delegates

13 Spouses

4 Fraternal

40 Sponsors & Exhibitors & Guests

257

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 10TH

CALL TO ORDER

President Michele Schmidt called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Wednesday, June 10th, 2009. INVOCATION

Rev. Dr. Jan Bigland-Pritchard, Director of the Prayer Centre for Ecumenism, gave the Invocation.

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

President Michele Schmidt introduced the Head Table and gave her welcoming remarks.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Executive Director Richard Dolezsar provided his annual Report on the operation of the Association and announcements relating to the 2009 Convention Program.

2008 AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENT

Moved by Richard Dolezsar that the 2008 Audited Financial Statement be accepted as circulated.

CARRIED

CONFERENCE KICKOFF SPEAKER- DEZ REED

Dez Reed provided an inspiring and comical Conference Kickoff presentation entitled "Lead On". CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

Phil Boivin, Municipal Affairs, Advisory Services, conducted the Call for Nominations for Vice President.

Michele Schmidt, Kerrobert, nominated Shelley Funk of Dalmeny for the position of Vice President. No further nominations were received upon third call.

Phil Boivin declared Shelley Funk elected as Vice President by acclamation.

2008 CONVENTION MINUTES

Moved by Richard Dolezsar that the 2008 Annual Convention Minutes be approved as circulated.

CARRIED

MEPP UPDATE

Kent Walde, Director, Policy and Board Secretary, Public Employees Benefits Agency (PEBA) provided an update on the Municipal Employees Pension Plan.

EXHIBITORS' PARADE

Exhibitors were each given 1–2 minutes to introduce themselves and their products to the Delegates. NOON LUNCHEON

Greetings on behalf of the City of Saskatoon by Mayor Don Atchison.

The following Fraternal Delegates brought greetings:

MMAA – Ken Jenkins

RMAA – Wendy Gowda

LGAA – Daryl Joyce

SASBO – Dean Biesenthal

DISTRICT MEETINGS

District Meetings took place from 1:00 to 1:45 p.m.

SUMA REGIONAL UPDATES

Tania Meyer, SUMA Advantage Programs and Laurent Mougeot, CEO provided updates on SUMA corporate programs and current issues.

MUNICIPAL ACT AMENDMENTS AND UPDATES

Carol Ingham, Senior Municipal Advisor and Advisory Services staff provided updates on

Municipal and Election Act amendments and other current municipal issues.

MINISTRY OF EDUCATION – EDUCATION TAX REVISION

Christina Sanford, Directory Policy and Project Management, Ministry of Education, Education Finance and Facilities Branch updated members on Provincial Education Tax and mill rate changes. KEYNOTE SPEAKER

Dr. Lynda Haverstock, keynote speaker, gave an inspiring presentation respecting the virtues of living and leading the way in Saskatchewan.

ANNUAL BANQUET AND AWARDS

The annual Banquet and Awards Program included the following items:

- -Guest Speaker, Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Municipal Affairs, Maryellen Carlson
- -Recognition of Outgoing Executive Members
- -Retirement Certificates with a power point presentation by Past President Kim Gartner.
- -Length of Membership Pins
- -Recognition of new Certificate holders

THURSDAY, JUNE 11TH

BACK TO THE BASICS WORKSHOP SESSION

Ministry of Municipal Affairs, Advisory Services staff provided a workshop on administrative practices geared for newer administrative officials including:

- -Administrators' responsibilities
- -Minutes and records
- -Public relations and information disclosure
- -Policy development
- -Deadlines
- -Elections
- -Tax enforcement procedures
- -Local improvements

HUMAN RESOURCES SESSION

Gilles Dorval, Human Resources Officer, City of Saskatoon, presented a workshop on current Human Resource issues and regulations in municipalities, along with a number of new program initiatives the City of Saskatoon is undertaking.

NETWORKING AFTERNOON

Delegates participated in a Networking Afternoon with a choice of either a Texas Scramble Golf Tournament at Rosthern Valley Regional Park or a Tour of Broadway and Riverboat Cruise. This was followed by a Golf Awards and Prizes and Tour Prizes evening and social. Winners of the Texas Scramble were the team of:

Phil Boivin, Rosalie Brown, Nito Raval, Ken Peters

Ladies' Longest Drive – Carol Audette

Ladies' Closest to the Pin – Shauna Brown

Men's Longest Drive – Jim Toye

Men's Closest to the Pin – Jason Chorneyko

FRIDAY, JUNE 12^{TH}

MINISTRY OF MUNICIPAL AFFAIRS PRESENTATION

Associate Deputy Minister Maryellen Carlson spoke on current Department issues centered around current municipal issues and where we are going in these areas. She outlined the need for infrastructure planning.

GRANT OVERVIEW -APPLICATION WORKSHOP

Kyle Toffan, Director of Grants Administration and Jennifer Getz, Senior Policy & Program Advisor reviewed current infrastructure grant programs and components of successful applications for approvals.

SAMA SERVICE DELIVERY

Brad Korbo, Managing Director, Assessment Services, SAMA, provided an update on SAMA service delivery changes including a proposal for continuous flow maintenance requests from municipalities.

RESOLUTIONS SESSION

RESOLUTION NO. 1

Moved by Valerie Schlosser of Viscount that the UMAAS Board lobby SUMA to engage experts in engineering and community planning to assist municipalities with resources essential for community planning and grant application requirements.

CARRIED

INTRODUCTION OF 2009-10 EXECUTIVE

Rodney Audette, Carnduff
Deb Machay, Maple Creek
Jason Chorneyko, Wynyard
Kathy Reschny, Denzil
Cathy Coleman, Watson
Nicole LaChance, Rosthern
Therese Chartier, Buffalo Narrows
Sherry Magnuson, Kindersley
Shelley Funk, Dalmeny
Michele Schmidt, Kerrobert
Kim Gartner, Macklin
Richard Dolezsar, Hudson Bay
Eileen Danyluk, Hudson Bay

PRESIDENT'S ADDRESS

President Michele Schmidt thanked the Delegates and Executive Members for their support and looked forward to working with the new Executive and membership in the coming year.

ADJOURNMENT

President Michele Schmidt declared the Convention adjourned at 11:30 a.m.