# MINUTES OF THE FIFTY SIXTH ANNUAL CONVENTION OF THE URBAN MUNICIPAL ADMINISTRATORS' ASSOCIATION OF SASKATCHEWAN HELD AT THE TRAVELODGE HOTEL IN SASKATOON, JUNE $8^{\rm TH}$ TO $10^{\rm TH}$ , 2011.

PRESENT WERE: 175 Delegates-12 Spouses-3 Fraternal-39 Sponsors/Exhibitors/Guests = 229 **WEDNESDAY. JUNE 8**<sup>TH</sup>

CALL TO ORDER

President Shelley Funk called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Wednesday, June 8<sup>th</sup>, 2011.

**INVOCATION** 

The Venerable Larry Mitchell, from the Prairie Centre for Ecumenism, gave the Invocation.

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

President Shelley Funk introduced the Head Table and gave her welcoming remarks.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Executive Director Richard Dolezsar provided his annual Report on the operation of the Association and announcements relating to the 2011 Convention Program.

2010 CONVENTION MINUTES

Moved by Richard Dolezsar that the 2010 Annual Convention Minutes be approved as circulated.

#### **CARRIED**

#### 2010 AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENT

Moved by Richard Dolezsar that the 2010 Audited Financial Statement be accepted as circulated.

#### **CARRIED**

#### **GREETINGS FROM SUMA**

SUMA Director West Central Region, Mayor Al Heron of Eston provided greetings and appreciation to Municipal Administrators from the SUMA organization.

CONFERENCE KICKOFF SPEAKER – BETTY-ANN HEGGIE

Betty-Ann Heggie provided an inspiring and positive Conference Kickoff presentation entitled "Get A Mentor, Be A Mentor".

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS – VICE PRESIDENT

Phil Boivin, Municipal Affairs, Advisory Services, conducted the Call for Nominations for Vice President.

Kim Gartner, Macklin, nominated Rodney Audette, Bethune for the position of Vice President.

No further nominations were received upon third call.

Phil Boivin declared Rodney Audette elected Vice President by acclamation.

CAMA PRESENTATION – JIM TOYE, PRESIDENT

Jim Toye recently elected President of the Canadian Association of Municipal Administrators (CAMA) made a presentation concerning membership benefits, programs and the 2012 CAMA Conference to be held in Saskatoon.

#### EXHIBITORS' PARADE

Exhibitors were each given 1-2 minutes to introduce themselves and their products to the Delegates. NOON LUNCHEON

The following attendees brought messages at the noon luncheon:

- -Councillor Maurice Neault, welcome from the City of Saskatoon
- -Van Isman, Deputy Minister of Municipal Affairs relayed appreciation for work of UMAAS members.
- -Justin Arendt, Manager Informational Services, Southeast Cornerstone School Division -SASBO Fraternal delegate message.
- -Margaret Bonekamp, CAO Town of Powerview Pine Falls, MMAA Fraternal Delegate message.
- -Edith Goddard, Division 4 Director RMAA, Administrator R.M. of Kellross No. 247 Fraternal Delegate message.

#### **DISTRICT MEETINGS**

District meetings took place from 1:45 to 2:30 p.m.

JOINT OFFICE WORKSHOP – 2:30 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

A meeting of the administrator group involved in joint office administration was conducted.

# TCA UPDATE/ASSET MANAGEMENT WORKSHOP

Steve Brown provided a workshop to members on the Province's overall progress on Tangible Capital Asset Financial reporting requirements and potential future Asset Management Programs.

ANNUAL BANQUET, RETIREMENTS AND SOCIAL EVENING

Conference participants enjoyed the annual Banquet, Retirement Awards and Elvis Tribute performance.

# THURSDAY, JUNE 9<sup>TH</sup>

# SAMA – 2013 REVALUATION

Todd Treslan, Assistant Managing Director of Assessment Services, SAMA, provided an overview of SAMA's current service deliveries and projections of Province wide value change trends related to 2013 revaluation.

#### EMO PLANNING WORKSHOP

Ray Unrau, City of Saskatoon, EMO Coordinator provided an indepth presentation on Emergency Planning, Disaster Definitions and budget emphasis considerations for EMO issues. Looking at social vulnerability reduction in making decisions was highlighted. Presentation will be made available to UMAAS members.

#### COMMUNITY PLANNING – SUBDIVISION UPDATES

Barry Braitman, Director of Community Planning provided a workshop on current Community Planning, Subdivision and Development/Servicing Agreement issues.

#### NETWORKING AFTERNOON

Delegates participated in a networking afternoon with a choice of either a Texas Scramble Golf Tournament at Warman Legends Golf Course or a Cooking Demo and Wine Tasting Exercise at the Travelodge. This was followed by a BBQ at Rodeo's and a social evening which included Golf and Tour Awards and Prizes and entertainment featuring comedian "Kevin McGrath".

Winners of the Texas Scramble were a team of:

Shelley Funk, Darcy Olson, Kyle Scott and Al Frisky

**Individual Winners:** 

Men's Longest Drive Chuck Lerat Ladies' Longest Drive Samantha Gillis Men's Closest to the Pin Al Frisky Ladies' Closest to the Pin MaryAnn Piermantier

FRIDAY, JUNE 10<sup>TH</sup>

KEYNOTE SPEAKER – DARREN LANG – "STAYING UP IN AN UPSIDE-DOWN WORLD" Darren Lang, keynote speaker provided an inspiring keynote address relating to stress, coping and overcoming our personal challenges.

### STRATEGIC PLAN REVIEW

Executive Director Rick Dolezsar conducted a review of the 2011 to 2015 UMAAS Strategic Planning Document for members.

#### MUNICIPAL AFFAIRS - NEWS AND LEGISLATIVE UPDATES

Phil Boivin and Bonnie Bjorndalen, Municipal Advisors:

- -Election Act amendments
  - -5 weeks between nomination day and election day is a major change
  - -10 business days required as minimum for call for nominations
  - -other various related amendments
- -A question and answer period followed.

#### SUMA PROGRAMS PRESENTATION

Tania Meyer and Shauna Brown reviewed SUMA programs:

- -SUMA Advantage Program
- -Municipal Awards Program
- -SUMA events
  - -Melfort Golf Tournament August 18<sup>th</sup> & 19<sup>th</sup>, 2011
  - -107 Annual Convention 2012
- -Group Benefits and Insurance Program

## INTRODUCTION OF 2011 - 12 EXECUTIVE

Division 1 Huguette Lutz, Carlyle
Division 2 Gordon Murray, Gravelbourg
Division 3 Jason Chorneyko, Wynyard
Division 4 Aileen Garrett, Unity
Division 5 Steven Piermantier, Nipawin
Division 6 Nicole Lerat, Rosthern

Division 7 Therese Chartier, Buffalo Narrows

Associate Carmen Dodd, Macoun
Vice President Rodney Audette, Carnduff
President Shelley Funk, Dalmeny
Past President Kim Gartner, Macklin

Executive Director Richard Dolezsar, Hudson Bay Executive Assistant Eileen Danyluk, Hudson Bay

# PRESIDENT'S ADDRESS

President Shelley Funk thanked the Delegates and Executive Members for their support and looked forward to working with the new Executive and membership in the coming year. She invited delegates to communicate regularly with Executive members.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

President Shelley Funk declared the Convention adjourned at 12:05 p.m.